Virtual Museum of Canada
 

The Mill in History

Children ride on back of a horse drawn trailer through Britannia Beach.
Children ride on the back of a horse
drawn trailer through Britannia Beach.
c. 1920. BCMM# 3940

Thousands of people drive by Britannia Beach every day on the Sea to Sky highway between Vancouver and Whistler, but few realize that they are traveling through one of the largest, most important copper mine sites of the 20th century. Only some of the buildings that made up the community of Britannia Beach still stand today. Up the mountain, ‘The Townsite’ (also known as Mt.Sheer) is completely overgrown, its buildings long demolished and its history alive only in the memories of the people who lived there.

All communities have a rich history that is often not readily apparent. Many of our towns and cities have an industrial heritage, since fishing, forestry and mining were the major occupations that built Canada’s early economy. Britannia Beach and its Mill are an important reminder of the stories found in all our communities, and they encourage people to discover the history in their own backyard.

BCMM 11266. The building of The Townsite (Mt.Sheer). c. 1914 BCMM 13496. The building of the Mill, south end of 2 middle floors. 1922. BCMM 13500. The foundations of the Mill. 1922. BCMM 13501. The foundations of the Mill. 1922. BCMM 13503. Playing baseball in front of the Mill foundations.1922. BCMM 13505. The Mill under construction. 1922.

Musée virtuel du Canada
 

L’usine dans l’histoire

Des enfants se promènent dans une remorque à cheval dans Britannia Beach
Des enfants se promènent
dans une remorque à cheval
dans Britannia Beach
c. 1920. BCMM# 3940

Tous les jours, des milliers d’automobilistes passent devant Britannia Beach sur la route Sea to Sky entre Vancouver et Whistler, mais peu d’entre eux se rendent compte qu’ils passent devant une des plus grosses et des plus importantes mines de cuivre du 20e siècle. Seulement quelques bâtiments qui composaient la communauté de Britannia Beach sont encore debout. Sur la montagne, le site du village (aussi connu sous le nom de Mount Sheer) est complètement recouvert d’arbres, ses bâtiments ayant été démolis depuis longtemps et son histoire est vivante seulement dans la mémoire de ceux qui y ont vécu.

Toutes les communautés ont une riche histoire qui n’est pas toujours apparente. Plusieurs de nos villes et villages ont un héritage industriel puisque la pêche, la foresterie et l’exploitation minière étaient les occupations principales de l’économie du Canada à ses débuts. Britannia Beach et son usine sont un rappel des histoires que l’on trouve dans toutes nos communautés et ils encouragent les gens à découvrir l’histoire dans leur propre région.

La construction du site du village (Mt.Sheer). v. 1914. BCMM: 11266. La construction de l'usine, côté sud de deux étages du milieu. 1922. BCMM: 13496. Les fondations de l'usine. 1922. BCMM: 13500. Les fondations de l'usine. 1922. BCMM: 13501. Match de baseball devant les fondations de l'usine. 1922. BCMM: 13503. L'usine en construction. 1922. BCMM: 13505.