Virtual Museum of Canada
 

The Community – Individual Stories

MILL (to the tune of "Old Rustic Bridge")
I was working one night in the old Dusty Mill
That stands on Britannia Beach
Twas there Munro dear, filled my heart full of fear
As he caught me asleep in the deep (at the switch)
Twas there I first met him, the light in his eyes
Made by insides go acreep
And, though wide awake, I still always quake
In the old Dusty Mill on the Beach.


Passengers for the ride up the skip from Britannia Beach to The Townsite

Passengers for the ride up the skip
from Britannia Beach to The Townsite.
1944. BCMM# 12578
The mill has a special memory for me. I was born Verlie Kemper at the beach in 1934 and my father Jack Kemper was a filter operator at the mill. Sometimes when he was working afternoon shift my mother would give me his supper in his lunch bucket and I would take it to him at the mill. Imagine - a girl of nine or ten going into the bottom door, climbing a couple of flights of those stairs to get to the floor Dad worked on (he knew what time to expect me) and delivering the lunch and then standing and watching the flotation operation at work. It was very noisy, dirty and fascinating - seeing the separation of the different metals. And then to come back out into the rain or the sunshine again.

Verlie Carney

The aftermath of the skip crashing into the Mill.

The aftermath of the skip crashing
into the Mill. 1939. BCMM# 13030

The last day of school before Easter break in 1939, we got out of class a bit early. Being in high spirits we all decided to walk home, we straggled along the track joking as we went. When we arrived at the cable shed there was a large crowd of miners milling around and a great deal of excitement. A cable car had got half way down the mountain when the huge cable snapped sending the car speeding out of control toward the town. The brakeman had been able to jump free and there were no passengers. The car slammed into the mill workings demolishing an entire building where amazingly no one was on shift at the time. Of course, we were all astounded at this news and almost ran the rest of the way into the centre of town. Everyone was gathered in the company store an when we all trooped in we were hugged and kissed and cried over as everyone had thought we were on the car that now lay embedded in a twisted mass of metal in the mill.

Constance Munro
Celebrating May Day at Britannia Beach
Celebrating May Day at Britannia Beach.
c. 1930. BCMM# 984.79.26


Can I tell you the first time it really struck me that this place was gone? They decided in ‘74 to shut it down because it was costing too much to get the ore out and it wasn’t profitable. And it took quite a while to mop everything up and get things out of the mine and that sort of thing. And one day I went to Squamish grocery shopping and when I came back the Mill, the concentrator, was dark. And I sat up on the bluff and I couldn’t come home because I was crying so hard. It was the saddest thing, I had never seen the Mill building without lights in it, and that’s when I knew it was over after being here for so many years.

Joan Ehler, As recorded on March 25, 2004.

BCMM 984.79.26 Celebrating May Day at Britannia Beach. c. 1930 BCMM 13489. A worker standing on the half constructed Mill. 1922. BCMM 13505. The Mill under construction. 1922. BCMM 11828. A family at Britannia Beach. c.1930. BCMM 12314. Visit of The Most Honourable George Freeman Thomas, later Freeman-Thomas, 1st Marquess of Willingdon, Governor General of Canada to Britannia Beach. c. 1929 BCMM 13489. A worker standing on the half constructed Mill. 1922.

Musée virtuel du Canada
 

Histoires individuelles

L’Usine (au son de « Old Rustic Bridge »)
Je travaillais une nuit dans la vieille usine
Qui se trouve à Britannia Beach
C’est là que Munro le cher a rempli mon cœur de peur
Quand il m’a surpris profondément endormie
C’est là que je l’ai rencontré, la lueur de ses yeux
A fait vibrer mon intérieur
Et, même si je suis réveillée, je tremble toujours
Dans la vieille usine de la Beach


Passagers pour la montée en skip de Britannia Beach vers le site du village.

Passagers pour la montée en skip
de Britannia Beach vers
le site du village.
1944. BCMM# 12578
J’ai un souvenir particulier de l’usine. Mon nom de fille est Verlie Kemper et je suis née à Brittania Beach en 1934 et mon père était conducteur de filtre à l’usine. Parfois, lorsqu’il travaillait au quart d’après-midi, ma mère me donnait son souper dans sa boîte à lunch et je lui apportais à l’usine. Imaginez, j’étais une fille de neuf ou dix ans ouvrant la porte, montant deux étages pour atteindre l’étage où travaillait mon père (il savait à quelle heure m’attendre), puis je lui donnais son repas et je regardais le fonctionnement de la flottation. C’était très bruyant, sale et fascinant…de voir la séparation des différents métaux. Puis, je revenais à la pluie ou au soleil.

Verlie Carney

Les conséquences de l’écrasement du skip contre l’usine.

Les conséquences de l’écrasement
du skip contre l’usine.
1939. BCMM# 13030

Le dernier jour d’école avant le congé de Pâques de 1939, nous avons terminé l’école un peu tôt. Étant excitées, nous avons décidé de marcher jusqu’à la maison et nous marchions sur la voie ferrée tout en racontant des histoires. Lorsque nous sommes arrivées à la remise des câbles, il y avait plusieurs mineurs rassemblés et l’atmosphère était fébrile. Un chariot à câble était à mi-chemin de sa descente lorsque le gros câble se brisa et envoya le chariot à toute vitesse vers le village. Le freineur avait réussi à sauter et il n’y avait pas de passagers. Le chariot s’écrasa contre l’usine et démolit un bâtiment complet dans lequel il ne se trouvait heureusement personne. Bien entendu, nous étions tous ébahis par la nouvelle et nous avons couru presque tout le trajet vers le centre du village. Tout le monde était rassemblé au magasin de la compagnie et puis on nous a entouré et embrassé, car tout le monde croyait que nous étions à bord du chariot qui était maintenant un amas de métal tordu dans l’usine.

Constance Munro
Célébrations du 1er mai
Puis-je vous parler de la première fois quand cela m’a réellement frappé que cet endroit était disparu? En 74, ils avaient décidé de fermer la mine parce que cela coûtait trop cher d’extraire le minerai et que ce n’était plus rentable. Cela a pris un bon bout de temps à tout nettoyer et à sortir les choses de la mine. Puis, un jour, j’étais allée faire mon marché à Squamish et à mon retour l’usine, le concentrateur, était sombre. Je me suis assise sur l’escarpement et je ne pouvais pas revenir à la maison parce que je pleurais trop fort. C’était tellement triste. Je n’avais jamais vu l’usine sans lumière à l’intérieur et c’est là que j’ai su que c’était la fin après tant d’années.

Joan Ehler, tel qu'enregistré le 25 mars 2004

Célébration du 1er mai à Britannia Beach. v. 1930. BCMM: 984.79.26 Un travailleur debout sur l'usine à moitié construite. 1922. BCMM: 13489. L'usine en construction. 1922. BCMM: 13505. Une famille à Britannia Beach. v. 1930. BCMM: 11828. Visite du Très Honorable George Freeman Thomas, plus tard Freeman-Thomas, 1er Marquis de Willingdon, Gouverneur général du Canada, à Britannia Beach. v. 1929. BCMM: 12314. Un travailleur debout sur l'usine à moitié construite. 1922. BCMM: 13489.