Virtual Museum of Canada
 
Click to view a flowchart of the mill process
Click to view panorama images of the Mill

Mill Archival Footage

These films, produced in the 1920’s and 1930’s provide a rare glimpse into the Mill when it was operational. They show a place of constant activity, and through these clips one begins to understand how the mill was able to process the huge amount of ore it did.

Video Player (Opens in a new window)


In the film entitled ‘A Visit to Britannia Mines’ (1932) Britannia Beach welcomes The Earl and Countess of Bessborough. Vere Ponsonby, 9th Earl of Bessborough, was the current Governor General of Canada and traveled throughout the country extensively. At the time of the film Britannia Mines was struggling with the low price of copper and the resulting layoffs of 50% of its employees. It was stated after they had left that the trip was not a particularly happy one and did not receive glowing reviews.

British Columbia Archives, Call Number F1989:05/001

The film ‘Industrial Britannia’ (ca.1926) was filmed by Carleton Browning, one of the most important figures in the history of the mine. Browning was the general superintendent of the Britannia Mining and Smelting Company Ltd. from 1917-1948, leading Britannia through its most prosperous period. It was under his direction that the Mill was built; in addition he oversaw a new underground transportation system to replace the old inefficient surface rail lines.

British Columbia Archives, Call Number V1988:34/001, with credit to the Browning Family Collection and the B.C. Museum of Mining.



Click here for full transcriptions of all video material (Opens PDF in a new window)
Click here to download Adobe's PDF Reader
BCMM  12808. Conveyor Belt. c. 1974. BCMM 12994. Ice cover inside the Mill. 1968 BCMM: 2709. An unidentified man sits on a ball mill in Mill #3. c. 1930 BCMM: 2708. An unidentified man stands on machines in Mill #3. c. 1930 BCMM :13498. The construction of Mill #3. 1922 BCMM: 2766. An unidentified man stands on the trestle at the top of Mill# 3. c. 1930 BCMM: 13497.  The construction of Mill #3 showing the skip. 1922 BCMM : 13492.  The construction of Mill :3.  1922

Musée virtuel du Canada
 
Cliquez pour visionner un organigramme du processus de l'usine
Cliquez pour visionner des images panoramiques de l'usine

Métrage d’archives

Ces films, réalisés dans les années 1920 et 1930, donnent un rare aperçu de l’usine lorsqu’elle était en activité. Ils montrent un endroit bouillant d’activités et par ces films, on peut comprendre comment l’usine était capable de traiter tant de minerai.

Lecteur vidéo (Ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre)

Dans le film intitulé « A visit to Britannia Mines » (1932), Britannia Beach accueille le comte et la comtesse de Bessborough. Vere Ponsoby, 9e Comte de Bessborough, était le Gouverneur général du Canada et il voyageait beaucoup partout au pays. Au moment du film, les Mines Britannia éprouvaient des moments difficiles à cause du bas prix du cuivre et du licenciement de la moitié de ses employés. Après le départ du couple, on a déclaré que leur visite ne fut pas particulièrement plaisante et les critiques n’étaient pas élogieuses.
Archives de la Colombie-Britannique, Cote F1989:05/001

Le film « Industrial Britannia » (env. 1926) a été filmé par Carleton Browning, un des plus importants personnages de l’histoire de la mine. Browning était le directeur général de Britannia Mines and Smelting Company Ltd de 1917 à 1948, dirigeant Britannia pendant sa plus prospère période. C’est sous sa gouverne que l’usine a été construite. De plus, il a supervisé le nouveau système de transport souterrain pour remplacer la voie ferrée de surface devenue inefficace.

Archives de la Colombie-Britannique, Cote V1988:34/001, avec mention à la collection de la famille Browning et le Musée d’exploitation minière de la Colombie-Britannique.

Cliquez ici pour les transcriptions complètes de tout le matériel vidéo.
Le plugiciel Acrobat Reader, gratuit, est essentiel pour faire afficher ce contenu. Cliquer ici pour télédécharger.

Convoyeur à courroie. v. 1974. BCMM: 12808.  Glace à l'intérieur de l'usine. 1968. BCMM: 12994. Un homme non identifié assis sur un broyeur à boulets. BCMM: 2709 Un homme non identifié debout sur des machines dans l'usine. BCMM: 2708 L'usine en construction v. 1922. BCMM: 13498 Un homme non identifié debout sur le tétreau au sommet de l'usine 3. BCMM:2766 L'usine en construction. BCMM:13497 L'usine en construction. BCMM:13492